7th Heaven

October 19, 2006 at 9:27 pm | Posted in sports | Leave a comment

Via Metsblog,

according to the team’s media department, Ron Darling will throw out the first pitch for tonight’s Game 7 against the Cardinals… The last Game 7 played at Shea Stadium was in 1986, a game in which Darling was the starting pitcher and the Mets won a World Championship…

I’m loving it! Over the past few days, Jeff and I have been personally sweating orange and blue like the rest of the Mets fans. While Jeff’s been waiting 20 years for a season like this, I’ve been by his side for 10 of it!!
It’s seasons, postseasons, and games like these that give us more reasons to believe. I can hardly concentrate at work this week, and when I do, I’ll lose concentration and wander off to Met-land.

7thheaven.jpg

I read a wide range of blogs, but over the past few days, nothing brings more comfort than the awesome collection of Mets blogs out there. In particular, I’m really loving Metsgrrl and Pick Me Up Some Mets.  Not just because they’re also lady-Mets fans, but I love reading their perspective on the game and how they throw out their own personal opinions and insightful observations.  To boot, they’re both profesional writers and I appreciate that!

In my own searching and reading, I found a very well written literary essay, essentially on what it’s like to be a Met fan.

The Mets fan lives by faith, tormented by Kierkegaardian doubt. He is with the early Church father Tertullian: ‘I believe because it is absurd.’

And because we still believe, despite the pessimistic reports about the starting pitcher, Mr. J.M. Tyree couldn’t have said it any better!

Many are likely on the 7 train, bound for Game 7 tonight.  And because we believe, it will likely lead to our turn for A state of great joy and satisfaction 
This is the year!

Next stop:  7th heaven.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.